Recent news and some forgotten creativity

The news over the past few weeks has had me a little crazy. All the hate in the world, and the seemingly incompetence of much of our government has left me irritated, bewildered, a little on edge, and well, questioning the future course of our nation.

The Charleston Massacre, as it is being called, has sparked in the voices of our leaders an agenda to possibly start a race war. It seems they are hell bent on removing any trace of the Civil War, and perpetrated a war in itself on the Rebel (or Confederate) flag and anything even remotely close to it.

Now, I grew up in the southern tier of New York State in the generation of The Dukes of Hazzard. My family watched it faithfully, and I am here to tell you, none of us were racist. None of my friends were racist. I now live in the south. I am still not racist, and none of my friends are.

So, in lieu of the bans and in the love of the Dukes and what we all perceive as a symbol of Southern Pride, a symbol of the spirit to fight and defend what you love and believe in, my kids and I decided to make our own t-shirts, falling back on that generation and doing it with iron-on transfers.

So check out the article I did on it and let me know if you give it a try. It was a cool family project.   make your own t-shirts and more

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.